Faculty

Faculty

Please click on the faculty names below for more information. Names are listed alphabetically

  Contact Information Research Focus
Anna Alberini

Anna Alberini

Professor

email: aalberin@umd.edu | room: SYM 2110 | Phone: 301.405.1267

  • Environmental Economics
  • Energy Economics
  • Econometrics and Statistics
James Archsmith

James Archsmith

Assistant Professor 

email: archsmit@umd.edu | room: SYM 2214 | phone: 301.405.1293

  • Energy Economics
  • Environmental Economics
  • Resource Economics
Erich Battistin

Erich Battistin

Professor

email: ebattist@umd.edu | room: SYM 2212 | phone: 301.405.8122

 

  • Applied Micro-econometrics and Causality
  • Economics of Education
  • Measurement of Welfare and Social Inequalities
  • Design and Evaluation of Public Interventions
Jing Cai

Jing Cai

Assistant Professor

email: cai516@umd.edu | room: SYM 2122 | phone: 301.405.1388

  • Development Economics
  • Household Finance

Robert Chambers

Robert Chambers

Professor

email: rchamber@umd.edu | room: SYM 2105 | Phone: 301.405.1266

 

  • Production Theory
  • Public Economics
  • Uncertainty
  • Financial Economics
  • Trade
  • Microeconomic Theory
Anna Alberini

Rebecca Epanchin-Niell

Visiting Associate Professor

email: epanchin@umd.edu | room: SYM 2213 | Phone: 301.405.1293

  • Natural Resource Economics
  • Invasive Species Managment
  • Species and Ecosystem Conservation
  • Spatial Resource Management
Jim Hanson

James Hanson

Professor and Associate Dean for Extension

email: jhanson1@umd.edu | room: SYM 1202 | phone: 301.405.2907

  • Organic Agriculture
  • Sustainable Agriculture
  • International Agricultural Extension Systems
  • Nutrient Management
Jorge Holzer

Jorge Holzer

Associate Professor

email: jholzer@umd.edu | room: SYM 2117 | phone: 301.405.1918

 

 

  • Natural Resource and Environmental Economics
  • Fisheries Economics
Dale Johnson

Dale Johnson

Farm Management Specialist

email: dmj@umd.edu | room: SYM 2112A | Phone: 301.405.1275

  • Farm & Financial Management
  • Computer Use in Agriculture
  • International Extension
Kenneth L. Leonard

Kenneth L. Leonard

Associate Professor

email: kenneth@umd.edu | room: SYM 2116A | Phone: 301.405.8589

  • Development Economics
  • Health Economics
  • Choice Under Uncertainty
  • Social Learning
  • Rural Africa
Erik Lichtenberg

Erik Lichtenberg

Professor

email: elichten@umd.edu | room: SYM 2102 | phone: 301.405.1279

  • Agriculture and Environment
  • Land Use
  • Natural Resource Economics
Joshua Linn

Joshua Linn

Associate Professor

email: linn@umd.edu | room: SYM 2110 | phone: 301.405.9881

  • Environmental Economics
  • Industrial Organization
  • Applied Econometrics
Lori Lynch

Lori Lynch

Professor and Chair

email: llynch@umd.edu | room: SYM 2123 | phone: 301.405.1264

  • Environmental and Agricultural Policy
James MacDonald

James MacDonald

Research Professor

email: jmacdon2@umd.edu | room: SYM 2216 | phone: 301.405.1293

  • Agricultural Economics
  • Industrial Organization
David Newburn

David Newburn

Associate Professor

email: dnewburn@umd.edu | room: SYM 2222A | phone: 301.405.8042

  • Environmental and Resource Economics
  • Land Economics
  • Water and Resource Economics
  • Spatial Modeling
 Lars Olson

Lars Olson

Professor

email: ljolson@umd.edu | room: SYM 2113 | phone: 301.405.7180

  • Natural Resource and Environmental Economics
  • Economics of Invasive Species
  • Growth Theory and Economic Dynamics
  • Economics of Uncertainty
Louis Preonas

Louis Preonas 

Assistant Professor

email: lpreonas@umd.edu | room: SYM 2104 | phone: 301.405.0017

  • Energy Economics
  • Environmental Economics
  • Development Economics
Steve Salant

Stephen W. Salant

Visiting Research Professor

email: ssalant1@umd.edu | room: SYM 2213 | phone: 301.405.1293

 

  • Resource Economics
  • Environmental Regulation and Climate Change
  • Industrial Organization
Neslihan Uler

Neslihan Uler

Assistant Professor

email: neslihan@umd.edu | room: SYM 2106 | phone: 301.405.1273

  • Public Economics
  • Experimental Economics
  • Behavioral Economics
  • Environmental Economics
Rob Williams

Roberton C. Williams III

Professor

email: roberton@umd.edu | room: SYM 2126 | phone: 301.405.1284

  • Public Economics
  • Environmental Economics
  • Microeconomic Theory
Mary Zaki

Mary Zaki

Assistant Professor

email: mzaki@umd.edu | room:  SYM 2122B | phone: 301.405.7502

  • Household Finance
  • Household Consumption and Food Insecurity
  • Fragile Households

Emeritus

     
Nancy Bockstael

Nancy Bockstael
Professor Emeritus, Retired

Environmental Valuation, Land Use and the Environment

nancyb@umd.edu

2200 Symons Hall

 

Jarvis Cain
Professor Emeritus, Retired

jcain2@umd.edu

2200 Symons Hall

 

Ian Hardie
Professor Emeritus, Retired

Forestry Economics, Land Use, 

ihardie@umd.edu

2200 Symons Hall

Darrell Hueth

Darrell Hueth
Professor Emeritus, Retired

Uniandes Program, Ag-related Environmental Problems, Policy & Project Evaluation

dhueth@umd.edu

2200 Symons Hall

Richard Just

Richard Just
Distinguished University Professor Emeritus, Retired

Welfare Economics, Risk and Production, Quantitative Policy Analysis, Technology Adoption, Management of Public Research, Pesticide Regulation

rjust@umd.edu

2200 Symons Hall

Howard Leathers

Howard Leathers
Associate Professor Emeritus, Retired

Agricultural Policy, Marketing & Production, World Food Issues

howardl@umd.edu

2200 Symons Hall

Douglas Lipton

Douglas Lipton
Associate Professor Emeritus

Fisheries, Seafood, Marine Recreation, Non-Market Valuation

dlipton@umd.edu

2200 Symons Hall
301-405-1280

Ted McConnell

Kenneth E. (Ted) McConnell
Professor Emeritus, Retired

Environmental and Resource Economics

tmcconn@umd.edu

2200 Symons Hall

Marc Nerlove

Marc Nerlove
Distinguished University Professor Emeritus, Retired

Econometrics, Environmental and Resource Economics, Likelihood Inference in Econometrics, Agricultural Development and Growth

mnerlove@umd.edu

2200 Symons Hall

Ivar Strand

Ivar Strand
Professor Emeritus, Retired

Natural Resource Economics, Fisheries

ivars@umd.edu

2200 Symons Hall

Professional Track

     
Paul Goeringer

Paul Goeringer
Extension Legal Specialist

Agricultural Law, Crop Insurance and Risk Management Issues

lgoering@umd.edu

3204 Symons Hall

301-405-3541

UMD shell logo bullet point Directory

UMD shell logo bullet point Website

 

Steve Jaffee
Lecturer

AREC 345 - Global Poverty and Economic Development

sjaffee@umd.edu

2116B Symons Hall

301-405-1295

Thanicha Ruangmas

Thanicha Ruangmas
Assistant Clinical Professor
First-Year Innovation and Research Center (FIRE)

ruangmas@umd.edu

2209 Symons Hall

301-405-5849

UMD shell logo bullet point Website

Mayhah Suri

Mayhah R. Suri
Faculty Specialist

Water Reuse, Agricultural Law, Crop Insurance and Risk Management Issues

msuri1@umd.edu

3204 Symons Hall

301-405-9576

UMD shell logo bullet point Directory

Adjunct & Affiliate

     
Maureen Cropper

Maureen Cropper
Affiliated Faculty

Maureen Cropper is Distinguished University Professor and Chair of Department of Economics, University of Maryland, College Park.

mcropper@econ.umd.edu

UMD shell logo bullet point Website

Taryn Devereux

Taryn Devereux
Faculty Specialist
International Women in Agriculture

Taryn Devereux is a Faculty Specialist with UMD Extension, specializing in international programming, research and teaching.

taryndev@umd.edu

UMD shell logo bullet point Directory

Shannon Dill

Shannon P. Dill
Affiliate Principle Extension Agent

sdill@umd.edu

Rolf Fare

Rolf Färe
Adjunct Faculty

Rolf Färe is a Professor of Agricultural and Resource Economics at Oregon State University.

rolf.fare@oregonstate.edu

UMD shell logo bullet point Website